A Christmas Carol Cancellation Announcement

LYCEUM NEWS

A Christmas Carol Cancellation Announcement

We have made the difficult decision to cancel our 2020 production of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol.

We are exploring new and safe ways that we might deliver this timeless story of Christmas to our Lyceum supporters – please be sure to follow our social media accounts if you don’t already, or request to join our email mailing list, for updates.

If you have a reservation for this show and are able, please consider donating your purchase back to The Lyceum. As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit theatre, we depend on the generosity of businesses and individuals to survive, and this year is an unprecedented challenge for our industry and for us in particular. If you are unable to donate your tickets and do not wish to talk to us about other arrangements, your tickets will be automatically moved to our 2021 season.

Please note, the linked form applies to our production of A Christmas Carol only. Please complete this form even if you filled out one or more of our previous postponement forms this season.

As always, thank you for your time and for your generosity. We truly would not be here today without your support.


In loving memory of Henry J. “Hank” Waters III

We are heartbroken to report that legendary Missouri newspaperman and Lyceum hero Hank Waters passed away August 20, 2020 at the age of 90. Today we honor Mr. Waters, without whom there would be no Lyceum history.

Hank’s importance to The Lyceum cannot be overstated. Not only had he served on The Lyceum’s board of directors continuously since the 1960s, it is an indisputable fact that The Lyceum would not exist today without his steadfast refusal to let her fail and his enthusiasm for all of the ways in which she might flourish and expand. We send our love and condolences to Hank’s wife, Vicki, and his family.

Both the Columbia Missourian and Columbia Daily Tribune have published obituaries in honor of Mr. Waters. Here are links to each:
The Columbia Daily Tribune
The Columbia Missourian


2020 Season Postponed Through November

On behalf of The Lyceum’s board of directors and staff:

It is with heavy hearts that we announce the postponement of the remainder of our summer/fall programming: Murder on the Orient Express, Our Town, Charley’s Aunt, and Heartbreak Hotel.

We have also postponed our trips to London and New York to the spring, as well as our special presentations of Count Basie Orchestra and Don Schlitz. Our Murder Mystery Weekend is postponed to October 2021.

In a statement from the Saline County Health Department, Administrator Tara Brewer said:
“Our hearts are broken that The Lyceum is postponing the remainder of its season through November, but in this uncertain time this is best for their actors, employees and patrons. Saline County Health Department supports The Lyceum in this difficult decision, and agree that opening the doors at this time may be an unnecessary risk.”

We will continue to evaluate the practicality of A Christmas Carol in the coming months.

Through a careful examination of the economic ramifications and potential public health impact of continuing our season in August, and after hearing from you, we have made the difficult decision that it is in the best interest of all of us to wait until next year to celebrate our 60th Season. We firmly believe this was the only decision that will allow us to reopen ready and strong in 2021 – and get back to filling your summers with Lyceum magic!

For those of you who have tickets to the remaining shows, we ask you to fill out our ticketing form (see button above for the link – it is important to complete this form even if you had tickets to the first three shows and previously completed that ticketing form) to let us know how you’d prefer for us to handle your ticket purchase for these shows. We appreciate your patience and understanding as we work to take care of you.

If you can, please consider turning your ticket(s) into a tax-deductible donation. If you convert your ticket to a donation, it will double in value for us thanks to a special challenge grant of $100,000 has been made possible by: Stan & Kay Kuecker with a lead gift, Hank Waters & Vicki Russell, Orscheln Farm & Home, John Landrum, Rita Burnstad, Dave & Nancy Griggs, and Rich & Debbie Lawson.

You can also transfer your ticket(s) to corresponding date(s) in 2021 (see chart below for reference).

Finally, we miss seeing you, Lyceum Family. We will weather this storm together and celebrate our reopening with renewed enthusiasm and joy next year! Stay safe, stay healthy and we will see you again soon. Please note our box office is currently closed to in person visits and operating by phone during limited business hours (10 a.m. – 2 p.m.); we will be reaching out to ticketholders for these productions as needed.

POSTPONEMENT DATE CHART:

Murder on the Orient Express:
Friday, 08/07/20 – 7:30 pm: Friday, 08/06/21 – 7:30 pm
Saturday, 08/08/20 – 2:00 pm: Saturday, 08/07/21 – 2:00 pm
Saturday, 08/08/20 – 7:30 pm: Saturday, 8/07/21 – 7:30 pm
Sunday, 08/09/20 – 2:00 pm: Sunday, 08/08/21 – 2:00 pm
Tuesday, 08/11/20 – 2:00 pm: Tuesday, 08/10/21 – 2:00 pm
Wednesday, 08/12/20 – 2:00 pm: Wednesday, 08/11/21 – 2:00 pm
Thursday, 08/13/20 – 2:00 pm: Thursday, 08/12/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 08/14/20 – 2:00 pm: Friday, 08/13/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 08/14/20 – 7:30 pm: Friday, 08/13/21 – 7:30 pm
Saturday, 08/15/20 – 2:00 pm: Saturday, 08/14/21 – 2:00 pm
Saturday, 08/15/20 – 7:30 pm: Saturday, 08/14/21 – 7:30 pm
Sunday, 08/16/20 – 2:00 pm: Sunday, 08/15/21 – 2:00 pm

Our Town:
Wednesday, 08/26/20 – 2:00 pm: Wednesday, 08/25/21 – 2:00 pm
Wednesday, 08/26/20 – 7:30 pm: Wednesday, 08/25/21 – 7:30 pm
Thursday, 08/27/20 – 2:00 pm: Thursday, 08/26/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 08/28/20 – 2:00 pm: Friday, 08/27/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 08/28/20 – 7:30 pm: Friday, 08/27/21 – 7:30 pm
Saturday, 08/29/20 – 2:00 pm: Saturday, 08/28/21 – 2:00 pm
Saturday, 08/29/20 – 7:30 pm: Saturday, 08/28/21 – 7:30 pm
Sunday, 08/30/20 – 2:00 pm: Sunday, 08/29/21 – 2:00 pm

Charley’s Aunt:
Wednesday, 09/09/20 – 2:00 pm: Wednesday, 09/08/21 – 2:00 pm
Wednesday, 09/09/20 – 7:30 pm: Wednesday, 09/08/21 – 7:30 pm
Thursday, 09/10/20 – 2:00 pm: Thursday, 09/09/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 09/11/20 – 2:00 pm: Friday, 09/10/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 09/11/20 – 7:30 pm: Friday, 09/10/21 – 7:30 pm
Saturday, 09/12/20 – 2:00 pm: Saturday, 09/11/21 – 2:00 pm
Saturday, 09/12/20 – 7:30 pm: Saturday, 09/11/21 – 7:30 pm
Sunday, 09/13/20 – 2:00 pm: Sunday, 09/12/21 – 2:00 pm

Heartbreak Hotel:
Wednesday, 09/23/20 – 7:30 pm: Wednesday, 09/22/21 – 7:30 pm
Thursday, 09/24/20 – 2:00 pm: Thursday, 09/23/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 09/25/20 – 2:00 pm: Friday, 09/24/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 09/25/20 – 7:30 pm: Friday, 09/24/21 – 7:30 pm
Saturday, 09/26/20 – 2:00 pm: Saturday, 09/25/21 – 2:00 pm
Saturday, 09/26/20 – 7:30 pm: Saturday, 09/25/21 – 7:30 pm
Sunday, 09/27/20 – 2:00 pm: Sunday, 09/26/21 – 2:00 pm
Tuesday, 09/29/20 – 2:00 pm: Tuesday, 09/28/21 – 2:00 pm
Wednesday, 09/30/20 – 2:00 pm: Wednesday, 09/29/21 – 2:00 pm
Thursday, 10/01/20 – 2:00 pm: Thursday, 09/30/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 10/02/20 – 2:00 pm: Friday, 10/01/21 – 2:00 pm
Friday, 10/02/20 – 7:30 pm: Friday, 10/01/21 – 7:30 pm
Saturday, 10/03/20 – 2:00 pm: Saturday, 10/02/21 – 2:00 pm
Saturday, 10/03/20 – 7:30 pm: Saturday, 10/02/21 – 7:30 pm
Sunday, 10/04/20 – 2:00 pm: Sunday, 10/03/21 – 2:00 pm